Fire Safety

Every year Verbier experiences a larger number of fires than you may realize. In Verbier, we are fortunate to have a team of professional firefighters augmented by a number of local volunteers. A firefighter’s job is first to save human life and then to save material possessions – this at the risk of their own life. We owe our Verbier firefighters sincere appreciation for their courage and dedication.

Only the professionals sleep at the fire station. The volunteers are on call and head to the fire station when an alert is sent. The Fire Station is located on the rue de Plan Praz, just west of the large parking lot of the Sports Center. In addition to responding to fire alarms, they supply awareness courses for the various rental companies, hotels, schools and les Elfes children’s camp.

The estimated time of first response to a fire in Verbier is 10 minutes.

If you are interested to learn more, log on to their website: https://www.csi-bvs.ch  or https://www.facebook.com/csibvs/ for interesting updates and videos.

EMERGENCY NUMBERS

It is important for all property owners to have posted in their apartments and chalets the emergency numbers below. Pop them into your cell phones. Remember that in an emergency time is of the essence!

Make it easy for your guests and for children to know what to do on holiday. Leave the numbers easily visible by the phone or posted up on the door.

Police       117       |       Fire          118       |       Ambulance 144

FIRE SAFETY TIPS

To help reduce the number of fires this season, here are some important rules to follow.
According to the fire service, the main causes for fire are as follows:

1) human error or inattention

2) trees that are too close to the building

3) faulty electricity

4) electric cars

FIREPLACES AND CHIMNEYS

Did you know that fire insurance is NOT mandatory in Valais? Double check with your insurance company to verify if you are covered.

It is mandatory to have your chimney swept on a yearly basis. If not, it is likely that you are not covered by your insurance in the case of a fire starting from the chimney/roof.

Until recently, there were no enforceable construction norms for chimney building. However, that has changed. There are now NEW CHIMNEY NORMS! You may not be covered if your chimney is not updated to these norms.

The “Official Chimney Sweep” for the Commune de Bagnes (Verbier) is Service de Rammonage Mariaux and can be reached at 027 722 30 12 for an appointment. They will clean your chimney and are officially responsible for inspecting the conformity of your chimney. Following the inspection, they establish a report stating any modifications or repairs necessary to meet the new norms. You are then free to contact any specialist (known as a “Fumiste”) you wish to do the necessary work.

The most common issues to be treated are: fire-proofing the wooden beams on the fireplace, retubing the interior of the smoke duct, extending the tube of evacuation to 3m above roof top, etc. Some of these modifications are reasonably small, but others can be pricey. It is worth getting more than one estimate if you need major renovations. *Please find attached the new norms criteria.

It is highly recommended not to light a fire until you are sure that your chimney meets these new standards.

REGLEMENTATION CHEMINEES DE SALON VALAIS (PDF)

ASHES

An ash that is dark and cold to the touch does not necessarily mean that it is not active. It may well still be red at the core.

It is best to clean the ashes into a metal recipient and place them on a NON-CONDUCTIVE surface (meaning STONE! Not wood!) The braises can fan and heat the metal bucket which will burn through any wooden surface.)

Beware to NEVER vacuum up ashes, as the air suction will fan them into life. This has happened a number of times in Verbier. The vacuum then catches fire and it may not be noticed until it’s too late!

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

Fire Extinguishers should be examined every 3 years by a specialist.

CHRISTMAS LIGHTS

Be sure to install appropriate lights – Outdoor lights for the balcony and indoor lights for the interior.
Candles on trees are a danger and are not recommended in this day and age. All candles should be placed on non-combustible surfaces.

PETS

If you have pets, you can request a sticker for your front door to alert firefighters to their presence. Contact us if you have any questions about this.

FIREWORKS

Inform yourself it there is a ban on fireworks. The commune will post a notice on its website. Also consider where you aim your fireworks. There is more than one chalet that has burned to the ground from a firework landing on its roof!

ELECTRIC CARS

Regarding electric cars, did you know that there is no way to extinguish a Lithium car battery that is on fire? Lithium continues to burn in water and extinguishers do not put it out. The only thing to do is to allow the battery to burn itself up which can take 48 hours.

Therefore, take extra caution when charging your battery in an underground parking garage. Often people use a rolled-up extension cord to reach their battery. Rolled up cords are only meant for light charges and CAN NOT support the charge of a car battery! It is always better to charge your car battery in an open space.

Underground parking garages are hard to combat as they become infernos and can spread the fire to habitable spaces above.

GARAGE LEVEL FIRE DOORS

Consider updating the door leading from your garage to your home with a fire-proof door. An architect or specialist must calculate the “burn surface volume” of the garage to determine the type of door that will function correctly.

The average European Norm is called E160 which protects a building for the length of 60 minutes. Burnt concrete will damage significantly and lose its structural strength.

SURVEILLANCE SERVICE

The Fire Department encourages all households to be connected to the Alarm Center which monitors the overall security of a home - fire and burglary. A subscription costs around 350 CHF per year. Another important recommendation is to install a "key ring tube" at the entrance door of each building. This keychain tube contains the keys to the front door so that firefighters and police can access it in an emergency. * Please note: Two service members must be present to open the key tube. Anecdote: Several times the firefighters arrive to help someone stranded in an elevator. They have the key to the elevator but do not have the key to the front door of the building!

DIGICODES

Make sure you or your building administrator provide the LATEST access codes to the Fire and Police departments before you need them! This is often forgotten when a password is changed.

Bagnes Check List

This topic will be added to and amended over time.

Prévention d'incendies

Chaque année, Verbier connaît plus d'incendies que vous ne le pensez. À Verbier, nous avons la chance d'avoir une équipe de pompiers professionnels complétée par des bénévoles locaux. Le travail d'un pompier consiste d'abord à sauver des vies humaines, puis à sauver des biens matériels, au risque de leur propre vie.

Nous remercions sincèrement nos pompiers de Verbier pour leur courage et leur dévouement!

Seuls les professionnels dorment à la caserne des pompiers. Les volontaires sont sur appel et se dirigent vers la caserne des pompiers lorsqu'une alerte est envoyée. La caserne des pompiers est située rue de Crêta-Cô 32, près des écuries à l'ouest du grand parking du Centre Sportif (Perrin).

En plus de répondre aux alarmes incendie, ils dispensent des cours de sensibilisation aux différentes sociétés de location, hôtels, écoles et camp d’enfants tels que Les Elfes.

Le temps estimé de première réponse à un incendie à Verbier est de 10 minutes.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus, connectez-vous à leur site Web: https://www.csi-bvs.ch  ou https://www.facebook.com/csibvs/  pour des informations et vidéos intéressantes.

NUMÉROS D'URGENCE

Nous vous conseillons d’affichez les numéros d'urgence dans vos appartements et chalets et de les enregistrer dans vos téléphones portables.

N'oubliez pas qu'en cas d'urgence, le temps est crucial !

Faites-en sorte que vos invités et vos enfants sachent quoi faire lorsque vous êtes absents. Laissez les numéros facilement visibles à côté du téléphone ou affichés sur la porte d’entrée.

Police 117       |       Feu 118       |       Ambulance 144

CONSEILS DE SÉCURITÉ INCENDIE

Pour aider à réduire le nombre d'incendies cette saison, voici quelques règles importantes à suivre.
Selon les pompiers, les principales causes d'incendie sont les suivantes :

1) Erreurs humaines ou inattention

2) Des arbres trop proches du bâtiment

3) Electricité défectueuse

4) Voitures électriques

CHEMINÉES ET POELES

Saviez-vous que l'assurance incendie n'est PAS obligatoire en Valais? Vérifiez auprès de votre compagnie d'assurance si vous êtes couvert.

Il est obligatoire de faire ramoner votre cheminée chaque année. Sinon, il est probable que vous ne soyez pas couvert par votre assurance en cas d'incendie partant de la cheminée/ toiture.

Jusqu'à récemment, il n'existait pas de normes de construction applicables pour les cheminées. Mais cela a changé ! Il y a maintenant de NOUVELLES NORMES POUR LES CHEMINÉES! Attention : Il est possible que vous ne soyez pas couvert si votre cheminée n'est pas aux normes.

Le "Ramoneur Officiel" de la Commune de Bagnes (Verbier) est Service de Ramonage Mariaux et peut être joint au 027 722 30 12 pour un rendez-vous. Ils nettoieront votre cheminée et sont officiellement chargés d'inspecter la conformité de votre cheminée. Suite à l'inspection, nous établissons un rapport faisant état de toutes modifications ou réparations nécessaires pour répondre aux nouvelles normes. Vous êtes alors libre de contacter le spécialiste de votre choix (dit «Fumiste») pour effectuer les travaux nécessaires.

Les problèmes les plus courants à traiter sont les suivants: ignifuger les poutres en bois du foyer, retuber l'intérieur du conduit de fumée, étendre le tube d'évacuation à 3 m au-dessus du toit. Certaines de ces modifications sont assez simple, mais d'autres peuvent être coûteuses. Il vaut la peine d'obtenir plus d'une estimation si vous avez besoin de rénovations majeures. * Veuillez trouver ci-joint les nouveaux critères des normes.

Il est fortement recommandé de ne pas allumer un feu jusqu'à ce que vous soyez sûr que votre cheminée répond à ces nouvelles normes.

REGLEMENTATION CHEMINEES DE SALON VALAIS (PDF)

CENDRES

Une cendre foncée et froide au toucher ne signifie pas qu'elle n'est plus active. Elle pourrait bien être encore rouge au cœur !

Il est préférable de nettoyer les cendres dans un récipient en métal et de les placer sur une surface NON-CONDUCTRICE, à savoir sur de la PIERRE pas sur du bois! Les braises peuvent se faner et chauffer le seau en métal qui brûlera à travers n'importe quelle surface en bois.

Attention à NE JAMAIS aspirer les cendres, car l'aspiration d'air attise le feu. Cela s'est produit plusieurs fois à Verbier. L’aspirateur prend alors feu et il se peut qu’il soit trop tard lorsqu’on s’en rend compte.

EXTINCTEURS

Les extincteurs doivent être examinés tous les 3 ans par un spécialiste.

LUMIÈRES DE NOËL

Assurez-vous d'installer des lumières appropriées - des lumières extérieures pour le balcon et des lumières intérieures pour l'intérieur. Les lumières intérieures des arbres de Noël doivent être débranchées lorsque vous quittez la maison. Les arbres deviennent très secs une fois coupés.

Les bougies sur les arbres sont un danger et ne sont pas recommandées de nos jours. Toutes les bougies doivent être placées sur des surfaces incombustibles.

ANIMAUX DOMESTIQUES

Si vous avez des animaux domestiques, vous pouvez demander un autocollant pour votre porte d'entrée pour alerter les pompiers de leur présence. Contactez-nous si vous avez des questions à ce sujet.

FEUX D'ARTIFICE

Informez-vous s'il y a une interdiction de feux d'artifice. En temps de sécheresse, la Commune affichera un avis sur son site Internet. Considérez où vous visez vos feux d'artifice. Il y a plus d'un chalet ayant brûlé à cause d'un feu d'artifice tombé sur son toit!

VOITURE ÉLECTRIQUE

En ce qui concerne les voitures électriques, saviez-vous qu'il n'y a aucun moyen d'éteindre une batterie lithium de voiture qui a pris feu? Le lithium continue de brûler dans l'eau et les extincteurs ne l'éteignent pas. La seule chose à faire est de laisser la batterie se consumer, ce qui peut prendre 48 heures !

Par conséquent, soyez extrêmement prudent lorsque vous chargez votre batterie dans un parking souterrain. Souvent, les personnes utilisent une rallonge enroulée pour atteindre leur batterie. Les cordons enroulés sont uniquement destinés aux charges légères et NE PEUVENT PAS porter la charge d'une batterie de voiture! Il est toujours préférable de charger la batterie de votre voiture dans un espace ouvert.

Les incendies de garage souterrains sont difficiles à combattre car ils deviennent des enfers et peuvent propager le feu aux espaces habitables au-dessus.

PORTES COUPE-FEU DE GARAGE

Envisagez de mettre à jour la porte menant de votre garage à votre maison avec une porte coupe-feu. Un architecte ou un spécialiste doit calculer le «volume de surface de combustion» du garage pour déterminer le type de porte qui fonctionnera correctement.

La norme européenne moyenne est appelée E160, qui protège un bâtiment pendant 60 minutes. Le béton brûlé s’endommagera considérablement et perdra sa résistance structurelle.

SERVICE DE SURVEILLANCE

Le Service des incendies encourage tous les foyers à être connectés à la Centrale d’Alarme qui surveille la sécurité globale d’un foyer - incendie et cambriolage. Un abonnement coûte environ CHF 350 par an. Une autre recommandation importante est d'installer à la porte d'entrée de chaque bâtiment un «tube porte-clés». Ce tube porte-clés contient les clés de la porte d'entrée afin que les pompiers et la police puissent y accéder en cas d'urgence. Remarque: Deux membres du service doivent être présents pour permettre l'ouverture du tube de clé. Anecdote: A plusieurs reprises les pompiers arrivent pour aider quelqu'un bloqué dans un ascenseur. Ils ont la clé de l'ascenseur mais n'ont pas la clé de la porte d'entrée de l'immeuble!

DIGICODES

Assurez-vous que vous ou votre administrateur de bâtiment fournissez les DERNIERS codes d'accès au service de police et d'incendie avant d'en avoir besoin! Ceci est souvent oublié quand un mot de passe est modifié.

Bagnes Check List

PLUS À VENIR: Ces sujets seront ajoutés et modifiés au fil du temps.